NASSAU COMMUNITY COLLEGE Garden City, New York 11530

Personnel, Affirmative Action and Labor Committee Minutes

February 15, 2024

The meeting of the Personnel, Affirmative Action and Labor Committee of the Board of Trustees was held on the eleventh floor of the Administrative Tower. The meeting was called to order by Trustee Jackson at 5:47 p.m.

Committee Members Present:	Wanda Jackson, Chair
	John Durso
	John DeGrace
	George Siberón
	Jorge Gardyn (ex-officio)
Also in Attendance:	Lynne D'Agostino, George Siberón, Donna Tuman, Leslie Vazquez CAO Conzatti, Acting VP Alvarez-Ortiz

1. Approval of Minutes

Trustee Jackson asked if there were any corrections to the minutes of September 12, 2023. Trustee Siberón moved to correct item #5 Professor Emeritus to reflect that Professor Wesley Doody retired from the Chemistry Department, not the Biology Department. Trustee DeGrace seconded the motion. Motion carried 4-0. Trustee Jackson asked if there were any discussion on the correction, and, being none, a motion was requested to approve the Minutes of September 12, 2023, as corrected; Trustee DeGrace made the motion; seconded by Trustee Durso. Motion carried 4-0.

2. Trustee Jackson introduced the following resolution:

RESOLVED, upon the recommendation of the Nassau Community College Board of Trustees Personnel, Affirmative Action & Labor Committee, the Nassau Community College Board of Trustees hereby approves that in recognition of distinguished and meritorious service to Nassau Community College, and upon the recommendation of the Chief Administrative Officer of Nassau Community College, the following named retired faculty members of Nassau Community College, who retired after attaining the academic rank of professor or associate professor, are hereby granted the permanent academic title of professor emeritus with all the privileges and rights accruing thereto.

Name	<u>Title</u>	<u>Department</u>	Retirement <u>Date</u>
Cheryl Novins	Professor	English	12/28/2023
Stefanie Lewis	Associate Professor	Communications	1/1/2024

Trustee Jackson asked if there were any comments. There being none, a motion was requested to forward the resolution to the full Board of Trustees for approval. Trustee Durso made the motion; seconded by Trustee Siberón. Motion carried 4-0.

One Half-Year Sabbaticals – Fall 2024

RESOLVED, that the Personnel, Affirmative Action & Labor Committee herewith affirmatively recommends and refers to the full Board of Trustees for approval pursuant to the terms of the faculty Collective Bargaining Agreement, and upon the recommendation of the Sabbatical Committee and the College administration, the following named faculty members be granted sabbatical leave as indicated during the 2024/2025 academic year to pursue appropriate educational or professional activities to enhance their professional competence and/or service to the College.

<u>Name</u>	<u>Dept.</u>	<u>Rank</u>	Appt. <u>Date</u>	Previous <u>Sabbatical</u>			
Mary Amalraj	Nursing	Associate Professor	9/2014	None			
Joseph Bernat	MAT/CSC/ITE	Associate Professor	9/2013	None			
JoAnne Thacker	MAT/CSC/ITE	Full Professor	9/2007	None			
<u>One Half-Year Sabbaticals – Spring 2025</u>							
Name	<u>Dept.</u>	<u>Rank</u>	<u>Appt.</u> Date	<u>Previous</u> Sabbatical			
Susan Cushman	English	Full Professor	9/2003	Fall 2010, Fall 2017			
Charles Hicks	Chemistry	Full Professor	9/2007	None			
Michael Niemczyk	English	Assistant Professor	9/2013	None			
Leslie Wong Loock	Library	Assistant Professor	1/2016	None			
Janet Farrell Leontiou	Communications	Full Professor	9/1995	Spring 2017			
Full-Year Sabbaticals – 2024/2025							
<u>Name</u>	Dept.	<u>Rank</u>	Appt. <u>Date</u>	Previous Sabbatical			
Natalia de Cuba Romero	English	Instructor	9/2007	None			
Mary Woodruff	SPS	P-1 Step 9	9/2007	None			

Trustee Jackson asked if there were any comments. There being none, a motion was requested to forward the resolution to the full Board of Trustees for approval. Trustee DeGrace made the motion; seconded by Trustee Durso. Motion carried 4-0.

Trustee Jackson asked if there were any other items for the Committee to consider. There being none, the meeting adjourned at 5:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Anne E. Brandi

Anne E. Brandi Secretary to the President and the Board of Trustees